The 16th centurey remains of the old lighthouse of Fiscardo, built by the Venetians is one of its famous land marks. It has been inactive since 1892. The lighthouse measures approximately 6 metres (20 ft) round the masonry tower. Adjacent to the lighthouse is a single storey lighthouse-keeper's house which dates from the 19th century. It is actually possible (but not advisable) to climb the tower. It is likely that the British refurbished the lighthouse during their administration of the Ionian Islands between 1809 and 1864. The site is open for visitors but explore with care.
The great stone bridge which dominates on the bay of Argostoli is the project of the Swiss Charles-Philippe De Bosset or in greek Devosseto. It was constructed in 1813 by the engineer and military governor of Kefalonia and officer of the English army. It has a length of one kilometer and was originally wooden. In the middle of the bridge you will encounter a pyramidal monument dedicated to manufacturers. In 2005 the passage of wheeled was prohibited and it is now closed to visitors waiting for the authorities to maintain it as it is necessary for a monument.
The grandiosity of nature has created here a unique work of art. Once inside the cave, the visitor is instantly captivated by this remarkable workshop of the earth, where stalactites and stalagmites have been forming for thousands of years. The reflection of sunlight on the stalactites creates an unrealistic atmosphere. The cave contains a 44-m-long descending passageway that leads to a chamber of 30 x 40 m. The latter, decorated with multi-hued stalactites and stalagmites, is renowned for its excellent acoustics and is prearranged for concerts on a special platform which is along the back wall of the cave. Its domed roof is intact and is of a unique, magical formation.
The Beacon of St. Theodoroi is the Lighthouse of Argostoli and was named after the small church located nearby. It is located about 3 km away from Argostoli and you should visit it to admire the architecture, the magical sunset and the view of the island Vardianoi which is located on the opposite side of the bay.
In the three halls of the Archaeological Museum of Argostoli, the visitor can admire the exhibits from the paleolithic period to the after roman period. They come from excavations across the island of Kefalonia: Sami, Fiskardo, the “cave Drakaina” Poros, Skala, cemeteries in Kokolata and Metaxata, the cave of Diakata and elsewhere. Among other things, visitors have the opportunity to admire here flint tools of Paleolithic period, pottery of the Middle Helladic period, gold coins of the Mycenaean era, bronze swords, an Egyptian scarab, and artefacts that testify the blossom of c Tetrapolis of Kefalonia in the 5th century BC C., which consisted of four cities -states, Pali, Krani, Pronnoi and Sami.
Everyday objects of people of Kefalonia, furniture, tools, appliances, artwork, religious artifacts and historical documents are the objects housed in the halls of Korgialenio Historical and Folklore Museum of Argostoli. It was created in 1963 on the ground floor of Korgalenios Library and covers the entire modern history of Kefalonia: the Venetian conquest until the destruction of the earthquake in 1953.